Remove Nodes from NAS Clusters

To remove a node from a NAS cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Power-off the node OR issue a command to remove the node from the NAS cluster. See Remove a Node from a NAS Cluster.
  2. Issue a command to disable the node from the NAS cluster configuration. See Disable a Node

    You must disable the node from the NAS cluster's master node. If you attempt to disable the node before removing it from the NAS cluster, you will receive an error indicating that the node is still actively joined to the NAS cluster.

Additional Information

After you have removed and disabled a node from its NAS cluster, the node will still display in the NAS cluster node list. To remove the disabled node from this list, you must completely rebuild the NAS cluster by doing the following:

  1. Remove each node from the NAS cluster. See Remove a Node from a NAS Cluster.
  2. Disable each node. See Disable a Node.
  3. Re-enable each node, excluding the node that you do want excluded from the NAS cluster node list. See Enable NAS Clusters .
  4. Re-join each node to the NAS cluster, again excluding the node that you do want excluded from the NAS cluster node list. See Join NAS Clusters.